Connect with us


Swachh Bharat Abhiyan: 11 Haryana Towns Declared Open Defecation Free

In the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan review meeting Union Minister M. Venkaiah Naidu and Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar presented certificates to ODF towns – Thanesar, Shahbad, Ladwa and Pehowa in Kurukshetra district; Sirsa, Mandi Dabwali, Ellenabad, Rania and Kalanwali in Sirsa district; and Panipat city

Swachh Bharat Abhiyan: Haryana Aims To Become Open Defecation Free By This September
  • 80 cities and towns of Haryana have been covered under Swachh Bharat
  • Haryana has been actively working towards municipal solid waste management
  • The civic body is catering a 100 per cent door-to-door service to 412 wards

Chandigarh: Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu on Friday declared 11 towns/cities of Haryana open defecation free and said the state aims to make remaining towns ODF by September 25 under the under the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan. After three states – Sikkim, Himachal Pradesh and Kerala were declared open defecation free (ODF) under the Swachh Bharat Mission, Haryana is the next state on its way to achieve the ambitious target of being 100 per cent ODF. Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu, on Friday, reviewed the implementation and progress of various urban development and housing missions launched by the Centre in Haryana.

The high profile meeting was also attended by Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar, state ministers concerned, secretaries of the Union and state urban development ministries, Haryana chief secretary and national and state-level mission directors of the new urban missions and other senior officials.

Four projects – the Swachh Bharat Mission (Urban), Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT), Smart City Mission and Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Urban) were reviewed in the meeting.

Rajiv Gauba Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development took to twitter and announced the news, “#Haryana State Govt. committed to make all towns and citizen #ODF by September 2017 @SwachhBharatGov #MyCleanIndia”

Around 80 cities and towns of Haryana have been covered under the Swachh Bharat Mission (Urban) for which the The Urban Development Ministry has allocated Rs 75 crore to the state.

Mr. Gauba further added that 10 towns – Panipat, Sirsa, Mandi Dabwali, Thanesar, Pehowa, Ladwa, Shahbad, Kalanwali, Ellenabad and Rania have been accorded the status of Open Defecation Free (ODF) since 2014.

Also Read: Bill Gates Gives PM Narendra Modi A Glowing Review For The Success Of Swachh Bharat Mission

Since the launch of Swachh Bharat, the state government has built 25,000 individual household toilets out of the target of 1, 06,373, and more than 1500 community and public toilets.

Besides building toilets, Haryana has been actively working towards municipal solid waste management. Out of the total waste generated per day which is 3,490 tonnes, 25 per cent of it is being currently processed as against the mission’s target of 100 per cent by October, 2019.

Adding to the waste treatment, the civic body is catering a 100 per cent door-to-door service to 412 wards out of the 1,449 urban wards in the state.

With an investment of Rs 2,544 crore, 20 cities and towns are being covered under AMRUT project which aims to provide water taps to all urban households on a priority basis. The project is also working towards improving sewerage and drainage networks, non-motorised urban transport and providing open spaces.

Cities under AMRUT project are Panipat, Sonipat, Ambala, Ambala Sadar, Bahadurgarh, Hissar, Karnal, Rohtak, Bhiwani, Jagadhari, Palwal, Sirsa, Faridabad, Jind, Panchkula, Thanesar, Gurugram, Kaithal, Rewari and Yamunanagar.

The focus will also be on implementation of welfare schemes in the Union Territory of Chandigarh, an official release said yesterday.

With inputs from agencies

Also Read: Waste Management Should Be Taught In Schools, Amitabh Bachchan Tells NDTV

Folk Music For A Swasth India

Folk Music

Reckitt’s Commitment To A Better Future

India’s Unsung Heroes

Women’s Health

हिंदी में पड़े